For a Muslim, Allah commands people to consume only halal food and drink. as Allah says in Surah Al Baqarah verse 168
يٰٓاَيُّهَا النَّاسُ كُلُوْا مِمَّا فِى الْاَرْضِ حَلٰلًا طَيِّبًا ۖوَّلَا تَتَّبِعُوْا خُطُوٰتِ الشَّيْطٰنِۗ اِنَّهٗ لَكُمْ عَدُوٌّ مُّبِيْنٌ
The wisdom of prohibition of illegal food and drink is to prevent something that can give mudharat (adverse effects) into the body. Therefore, Muslims need to avoid illegal food drinks. The category haram is also divided into two, namely haram because of its substance and how to get it.
A Muslim should try to get foods and drink in a halal way.
Halal food can also turn into haram when obtained in an illegal way. For example, food is obtained by stealing, robbing, and so on. It’s all illegal.
Look for foods products that have halal labels.
In this modern age, identifying halal food can be done more easily. Because halal products today have halal labels that are easily recognized by Muslims.
Therefore, as much as possible choose foods and drinks listed halal labels on the packaging. If not found, you should avoid these foods and drinks because of syubhat (obscurity)
Pay close attention to the composition contained in food and beverage products.
Does it contain substances that are haram such as lecithin from pigs or alcohol. If not, then the product is halal consumed.
If the food and drink comes from abroad, then it should be known whether the food, especially the meat that has been cooked, is slaughtered in islamic ways or not. If not, the food is forbidden to be consumed by Muslims.
If you have difficulty finding halal foods and drinks, then the solution is to look for foods that are derived from plants and do not contain alcohol such as carrots, spinach, chicken eggs, and others.
Go to halal Mart
Look for food and beverage sellers who are Muslim because the potential to get halal food and drinks is greater than other non-Muslim food vendors.